

Council Members

Walt Beglau, District Attorney Marion County

Kim Brady Veterans' Representative

Mark Caillier Citizen at Large

Rod Calkins, Administrator Marion County Health Dept.

Janet Carlson, Commissioner Marion County

Jayne Downing, Director Center for Hope & Safety

Tom Ewing Citizen at Large

Faye Fagel, Director Marion County Juvenile Dept.

Jim Ferraris, Chief City of Woodburn Police Dept.

Tim Fox, Lieutenant Oregon State Police

Don Frederickson Citizen at Large

Courtland Geyer, Judge Marion County Circuit Court

Tamra Goettsch, Director Community Services Dept.

Jessica Kampfe Public Defender

Pete McCallum Citizen at Large

Todd McCann Attorney at Law

Ed McKenney Citizen at Large

Jerry Moore, Chief City of Salem Police Dept.

Diane Morse, Administrator Marion County Circuit Court

Jason Myers, Sheriff Marion County

Anna Peterson, Mayor City of Salem

Jeffrey L. Puterbaugh Alcohol & Drug Committee

Tracy Prall, Judge Marion County Circuit Court

Bob Royer Citizen at Large, Vice-Chair

Mike Runyon, Supervisor Oregon Youth Authority

John Teague, Chief City of Keizer Police Dept.

John Van Dreal Salem-Keizer School District

MARION COUNTY PUBLIC SAFETY COORDINATING COUNCIL

Chair: Commissioner Janet Carlson Vice-Chair: Bob Royer

Oregon law requires all counties in the state to form local public safety coordinating councils. ORS 423.560, passed in 1995, defines the roles and responsibilities of local public safety coordinating councils which are advisory councils to county boards of commissioners. These include:

- 1. Developing and recommending to the county boards of commissioners:
 - (A) Plans for the use of state resources to serve the local adult offender population;
 - (B) Plans for the use of state and local resources to serve local offenders 15-18 years old: Plan must coordinate community-wide services involving prevention, treatment, education, employment resources and intervention strategies;
 - (C) A plan designed to prevent criminal involvement by youth. Plan must include coordination of community-wide services involving treatment, education, employment and intervention strategies aimed at crime prevention; and
- 2. Coordinate local criminal justice policy for both adults and juveniles among the appropriate criminal justice entities.

The *Marion County Public Safety Coordinating Council* was formed in 1997 and today there are 27 members on the council. Membership includes public safety, education, social service, civic and business leaders and practitioners representing the following breadth of disciplines: law enforcement, prosecution, community corrections, public defense, judiciary, domestic violence, public health, and juvenile justice. The group meets monthly to carry out its responsibilities. In addition to the mandated requirements above, the council works to forge long term partnerships in the public safety system through an environment of collaboration, leadership, data-driven policy, transparency, and accountability.

For more information about the Marion County Public Safety Coordinating Council go to: http://www.co.marion.or.us/BOC/PSCC



District Attorney Walt Beglau, Commissioner Janet Carlson, Sheriff Jason Myers