Declaration of Domestic Partnership
Domestic Partnership – is the civil contract between two individuals who are at least 18 years of age, and otherwise meet the rules of Oregon Law.
Partner – indicates an individual joined in a Domestic Partnership.
Both must be at least 18 years of age.
One partner must be an Oregon Resident
Applicants cannot be married or have a current domestic partnership.
Parties cannot be first cousins, or any nearer of kin to each other.
Forms must remain at full size (8-1/2 x 14" - be sure to print full size, do not "fit to page"), be signed and registered by the County Clerk to be valid.
Black or dark blue ink must be used.
A notary public must acknowledge signatures. The Marion County Clerk’s Office does not have a notary on staff.
Date of birth and month of birth must be spelled out.
The fee to register a Declaration of Domestic Partnership is $60.00 A Certificate of Domestic Partnership will be issued at the time of registration.
Certified copies are $4.00 a copy.
Dissolution or annulment of a domestic partnership takes a court action.
Domestic Partnership forms and additional information
To enter into a domestic partnership, a “Declaration of Domestic Partnership” must be registered with a County Clerk in the state of Oregon. The Declaration is a legal form. The form can be completed electronically, typed in Black or dark blue ink and should not be altered. The legal form is 8 ½ inches by 14 inches and has a gray stripe along the left-hand side. All sections of the form must be completed unless otherwise specified in the instructions. The forms must be signed by both individuals in front of a notary and registered by a County Clerk to be valid. Forms signed and notarized prior to February 1, 2008 are not valid and will not be registered by the County Clerk.
The County Clerk registers the form in a Domestic Partnership Registry. A copy of the form, along with a “Certificate of Registered Domestic Partnership”, can be provided to the partners in person.
The federal court injunction on HB 2007 was lifted on February 1, 2008. . Declaration of Domestic Partnership are now available to the public.
Follow this link to access the forms and additional information provided by the State of Oregon:
DHS - Domestic Partnership Forms/Instructions